It’s all about Indy

Photo Credit: Eric Learned

Photo Credit: Eric Learned

By Amanda Dorman

Indianapolis has received no shortage of national attention in the past few months. The Chicago Tribune wrote that Indianapolis feels “progressive – some might even say hip.” In an article about affordable American travel, the Wall St. Cheat Sheet wrote, “it’s all about Indiana.”

Comings and goings on The Circle.  Photo Credit: Conrad Piccirillo.

Comings and goings on The Circle.
Photo Credit: Conrad Piccirillo.

Having lived in Indianapolis all my life, I feel this change too. Last summer my professional journey led me from Carmel to Downtown Indy. Although only 30 minutes apart, my lifestyle Downtown is quite different: I walk to work every day, I can visit the farmers market on my lunch break, I have access to the Cultural Trail within steps of my apartment and I no longer have to stress about UBER-ing it home on the weekends (I live within four blocks of Mass Ave).

“If I could give Downtown Indy a slogan, I would defer to a t-shirt I have that has a map of Indy and the words: We Like You Here.”

Much has been written about the changes that have swept through Downtown Indy in the last few years and the attractions that we can now brag about: the International Orangutan Center, the gorgeous Alexander Hotel, the sports teams. But I never doubted Indy could attract, retain and support these attractions and events.

photo (2).fwIf I could give Downtown Indy a slogan, I would defer to a t-shirt I have from Sunday Afternoon Housewife that has a map of Indy and the words: We Like You Here. If you want to start a fashion magazine (Pattern), you can do that. If you want to open up a juice bar (Natural Born Juicers), you can do that too.

A few months ago I had the honor to be a judge at a 5×5: a partnership between Central Indiana Community Foundation, Christel DeHaan Family Foundation and the Efroymson Family Fund, among others, to give anyone with a great idea the opportunity to pitch it to the public and a panel of judges in five minutes using five PowerPoint slides. At the end of each event, the winner walks away with $10,000 to activate his/her idea.

5×5 is what Downtown Indy is all about: if you have an idea, and the drive to see it through, you will likely find support from someone in our community. You may not get $10K to make it happen, but you’ll get somewhere. And that somewhere can lead to something. After all, we like you here.

 

Amanda Dorman is the Communications Manager at Downtown Indy. She enjoys teaching indoor cycling, yoga, live music and exploring Downtown Indy (especially through food!). Find out why “it’s all about Indy” by following her on Twitter: @amandajdorman.

 

Leave a Reply

