My Journey

Brett Michael Wiscons

Brett Michael Wiscons

By Brett M. Wiscons

Ever since I was sixteen, way back in 1996, I wanted to be a musician.

My love for music really was born in my bedroom. I’d spend innumerable hours with the door closed while I listened to tunes by the Doors, Eagles, Lynyrd Skynyrd and the Beach Boys. You know, the good stuff. I fantasized about being on a stage in not only the USA, but also in foreign countries. All I wanted to figure out was a way to make music my career. Fast forward to 2008, and I bid adieu to my relatively high paying and reasonably steady sales job to jump in, with both feet, to the music business.

“I fantasized about being on a stage in not only the USA, but also in foreign countries. All I wanted to figure out was a way to make music my career.”

I’d been singing in a band since high school, so I was laying the foundation for what was to come. As I moved on to college at Marian University in Indianapolis, I studied (sometimes) hard and decided it was best to at least obtain a degree in case the whole music thing didn’t work out. I settled on a business administration degree with a concentration in marketing and it truly came in handy.  I was still singing in a band on the weekends and getting my feet wet on the business side of things. I handled most of the booking and promotion aspects of the band. Looking back, it really was a blessing – for now I am just as comfortable trying to book a show in Florida as I am in my home state of Indiana.

Now, I’m 34, started my own, independent record label and publishing company (MAD Diamond Entertainment) and have some great things on the horizon. In the last two years I’ve written and self-published two private detective novels and released a new EP of music that was produced by a two-time GRAMMY winner. Later this summer, my new group and I (The Brett Wiscons Band) will be playing high profile shows with Zac Brown Band (July 13th) and at the Indiana State Fair (August 14th). I’m still working on playing overseas though, but it’s only a matter of time.

“I’ve by no means “arrived,” but the journey is what keeps my train on the tracks.”

It’s nice to pause and look back at my journey thus far. Writing this blog post has aided me in doing just that. Like most people, I’m always eyeing what’s next, but rarely live “in the moment.” When I really think about it, I feel I’ve been able to do some cool things in my music career which have led to lifelong friendships and memories. This is what I should be doing with my life. If there’s anyone out there – no matter what age – whose time and mind is consumed with a certain career field or path, they should follow it. You just might get where you’re going. I’ve by no means “arrived,” but the journey is what keeps my train on the tracks.

Brett Michael Wiscons is a singer-songwriter and novelist. He lives in Zionsville, IN with his wife and dog.  He can be found online at www.brettwiscons.com

Join us in 2014 as we celebrate the theme of “JOURNEY” during the Spirit & Place Festival, November 7-16.

Leave a Reply

