Stay Risky, My Friends

By Jamie Kostecki

RISK is the theme of the 18th Spirit & Place Festival which takes place this fall on November 1st through November 10th. Although I’ve never had the opportunity to attend the festival, you can bet your behind that I’d totally be there this year if it weren’t for the fact that I ran away to Boston after graduating from Butler University (Go Dawgs).

Like the wise Kelly Clarkson once said, “I’ll take a risk, take a chance, make a change
and break away.” Preach, girl. Let me just clarify that I am not a Kelly Clarkson fan. Glad that’s been established.

“In my mind, going on a first date is just as much of a risk as jumping out of an airplane.”

I can comfortably claim that there are infinite kinds of risk. Some people think jumping out of an airplane is no big deal, while my mom would say talking to a stranger on the T is a huge risk; “just make sure he’s not outside of your apartment at night. And maybe you should buy some mace.” Thanks, Mom. Personally, I’d say getting that sushi from the grocery store is pretty risky. Or getting bangs. But I’m not here to tell you what’s considered a risk and what’s not. In my mind, going on a first date is just as much of a risk as jumping out of an airplane. I mean, what if he doesn’t like your dress or turns out to be some sort of psycho serial killer or has bad shoes? (I’ve thought all of those things, by the way.)

It’s all about perspective, really. I didn’t think that taking a job for a publishing company and blindly moving from my comfortable suburb of Chicago to Boston was much of a risk, but rather something that I needed to do to become a well-rounded adult. And, you know, to make money and stuff I guess. Little did I know I’d experience my first hurricane, earthquake, and terrorist attack. I would tack ‘huge blizzard’ onto that list, but come on people, I’m from Chicago.

“Even if every single thing goes wrong, you’ll still at least have a great story to tell.”

I suppose I categorize the “risks” I take more as “adventures,” or “poorly planned decisions.” Whatever you want to call them, they’re fun. And they make life a whole lot more interesting. So ask that guy or girl out, jump out of a plane (with a parachute, of course), move across the country, and eat at that hole-in-the-wall Mexican joint. Because even if every single thing goes wrong, you’ll still at least have a great story to tell. Except for maybe the airplane situation. Do your research on that one.

This Guy

The fact of the matter is we all take some sort of risk every day of our lives. If we didn’t, we’d all end up something like this guy. →

Oh my gosh, is that Jake Gyllenhaal??? I had no clue he was in that movie. Not like I’ve ever seen it, but still.

So, have you done anything risky lately? Tell me about it in the comments!

Jamie works for Vista Higher Learning, a modern language publishing company, in Boston, MA. She loves lamp, running, doggies, pickles, and long walks on the beach. Follow her @JMe_Kostecki, if you dare.

One thought on “Stay Risky, My Friends

Leave a Reply

