Risk – Nature Or Nurture?

Flying with the big boys

Flying with the big boys

By Katie Day

Risk is in my blood.  It is part of my DNA.

I come from a line of risk taking, women.  All of them were born in a time when ‘risk’ was just not what women did!

My personal experience of risk taking dates back to 1970.  I was ten years old.  My mother and I had left my father the previous year.  This, in itself, was a hugely risky thing to do.  My mother didn’t work so had no financial back up to facilitate us leaving.

“Take the most life affirming risk you can – risk stepping into the very best version of you, and being that person every second, every day, without censor or judgement.”

We had been staying with a friend of hers, who wanted my mum to go on holiday with her.  Mum said ‘No’ as she was working hard to earn some money to create a stable life for us both.

Well, at 10pm on a cold, wet Thursday night in March 1970, mum’s friend threw us out of her home.  We were walking the streets with a small suitcase and a couple of carrier bags and no-where to sleep that night.  We were homeless. Mum finally managed to find us somewhere to stay. It took another five years before we had any real stability, but we never walked the streets again.

She took a huge risk in leaving my father.  But, she recognized that by staying, she would have been taking an even greater risk – for both of us.  Her immense courage and faith inspired me as I grew into adulthood.

“We were walking the streets with a small suitcase and a couple of carrier bags and no-where to sleep that night. We were homeless.”

We are lucky enough to be born in one of the most affluent, supportive and potentially productive eras in history.  Our risks are very different to the risks of our ancestors.

For me, risk has been about stepping into my spotlight and being seen, visually and vocally.  I know I have been born with the voice denied by my female ancestors, so I embrace my authentic feminine power.This means: being true to myself, knowing my values and living them daily; not being persuaded by others views of how I should be living; and being the best version of myself I can be.

What I know is that if I live in any other way, I am taking a bigger risk.  I risk: wasting my time here; not reaching my potential; not sharing my life’s wisdom and experiences; living apart from my values.

These are risks I am never prepared to take.

Take the most life affirming risk you can – risk stepping into the very best version of you, and being that person every second, every day, without censor or judgement.  Embrace risk and be fabulous!

 

Katie Day

Katie Day

Katie Day, Author and Global Speaker

Women in business, vision and values in leadership

www.katieday.com

Follow Katie on Twitter: @KatieDayAuthor

 

Leave a Reply

