Indianapolis and Play

MonumentCircle Day Summer Street Level

MonumentCircle Day Summer Street Level

Dinosphere, Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Dinosphere, Children’s Museum of Indianapolis

By Morgan Greenlee, Senior Communications Manager, Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association

I’m in the business of tourism, and it’s my job to invite and encourage people from around the world to come to Indianapolis and PLAY. It’s a fun job considering the task often requires me to learn and explore all corners of Indianapolis so I can tell the story of our city.

It’s also an important job: the tourism industry brings in over 20 million visitors every year who inject $3.4 billion into the city, and help employ more than 69,000 hospitality workers.

You can imagine my excitement when I heard that this year’s Spirit & Place Festival selected the theme of “PLAY,” a theme that will allow our own community to connect, energize and take time to consider how we play in our daily lives. While my opinion is blatantly bias, I cannot think of a greater destination that rolls out a better landscape to PLAY; and it is always my wish for more Hoosiers to explore their own backyard so that the spirit of this place can be shared with friends and family tenfold.

“I cannot think of a greater destination that rolls out a better landscape to PLAY”

WhiteRiverStatePark Central Canal Skyline w Gondola

WhiteRiverStatePark Central Canal Skyline w Gondola

Indianapolis’ tourism industry is thriving, yet I wonder how many residents could say that they’ve climbed to the top of the Soldiers and Sailors Monument? Could you say you’ve spent a full day (because it takes two!) to explore the world’s largest children’s museum? What about exploring our 250-acres of urban greenspace in the heart of downtown Indy? Have you taken a gondola ride through the Central Canal? And when’s the last time you’ve been to Fountain Square or Irvington, two neighborhoods that continue to surprise me with ongoing developments.

As my friends and I do every season, we create a list of Indy Must Dos. In honor of the upcoming Spirit & Place Festival, I’ve entitled our new list that hangs from our refrigerator, “Indy Summer PLAY List.”

For the love of our city and for health and happiness, get out and PLAY.

Leave a Reply

