The Body

The Body
By Pam Blevins Hinkle, Director, Spirit & Place

Pam Blevins Hinkle conducts the Honors Treble Choir, Evansville School Corporation, Jan 15, 2011.

Last month, I was reminded why I like conducting choirs so much. I get to embody the music. My gestures and facial expressions, the solidity or sway of my stance, even my breath … all these shape the sound and coax a nuanced performance from the singers.

There’s a time-honored axiom in conducting: “What they see is what you get.” In other words, the choir’s sound is related to the physical cues and instructions the conductor provides.

It occurs to me that this axiom is about life, too. How does my physical presence influence outcomes? Are my gestures, carriage, and facial energy embodying my vision and passion?

Fascinating. The body not only interprets, but influences experience. This year’s Spirit & Place Festival, scheduled for November 4-13, will explore “The Body.”

What ideas fascinate you?

Leave a Reply

